Sometimes it’s good to stop caring

I think the reason I hate my recent art so much is that it’s so very self-conscious. I’m having trouble letting go of the need to make every little thing as good as I can and my hesitation shows in every shaky line and garbled anatomical construction.

I make better art when I’m not being fussy.

I actually finish stuff then too.

This epiphany brought to you by a pinball machine doodled mindlessly on a sticky note.

About braineatsbrain

Recently diagnosed with bipolar. Twice. This is where I'm going to try to make sense of that. Expect introspection, unfocused anger, and random art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes it’s good to stop caring

  1. mabelstanley says:

    When I was an art model, one of the things my favorite painting professor always always said was “Don’t. Be. Precious.” One time, she strapped a kid’s arm to a yardstick to force him to paint from a distance, so he couldn’t be all up in the detail, and couldn’t get so close he couldn’t see the model. I’ve been saying it a lot to myself lately, and so I gift it to you- Don’t. Be. Precious. ;)

Leave a Reply

