Weekend Update

So the mini mania/activation seems to be a strictly at work thing. Or a Friday thing. Or a when I hold my head like this thing. Who can say?

I’ve been good all weekend, even though my tire blew and I had to shovel my car out of a snowdrift before I could put on my spare and walk in the freezing cold through the industrial section where there are no sidewalks and lots of traffic after I dropped it off and bail on seeing my sister and my nephews even though I’d been looking forward to it all week. Not all that long ago, I can see this sending me home to pout for the rest of the weekend and just feel kind of shitty about it. Yesterday, I called my sister, rescheduled for this morning and went about my day.

Got my car back in time to see Jill, watch How To Train Your Dragon with her (TOOTHLESS! Adorable dragon or most adorable dragon? Discuss) and eat delicious soft tacos with all of the cheese and peppers.

Today I spent the morning with my nephews and we played runaway train, which consists of me running as fast as I can on the hardwood floors while they hang on to my pants and try not to fall down. Belt is highly recommended. Then we drew and coloured and played Epic Mickey (I say we, but I was more of a reserve player. They would play until they got frustrated, then hand the controllers off to me and my sister to get them unstuck and then grabbing them back as soon as whatever obstacle was passed) until it was time for me to go. I love those kids, even though they stole my juice (jerks) and I’m covered in baby drool from where the youngest one decided that zerbert-ing my leg was the next best thing in toddler entertainment.

As far as side effects go, the lingering almost-a-headache-but-not-quite thing is still kicking around and I’m definitely more light sensitive. The skin on my back and shoulders is itchy, which could mean an oncoming acne breakout or just minor skin irritation or the beginning of THE RASH. I am not concerned at this point, but I will definitely monitor. Necrosis doesn’t sound like much fun at all. Also, muscle aches. Though it seems focused on areas I’ve previously injured and thus could just be an ill timed recurrence of old war wounds, I’ll need to keep an eye on that too. I do have an appointment for a massage tomorrow evening (which has the double plus bonus of getting me out of work an hour early) so hopefully that helps.

Otherwise good. I feel stable, not jittery or anxious, or despairing. I’ve got tickets for a hockey game tonight and I’m looking forward to it. I have no investment in either of the teams (other than a mild disdain for the Oilers that stems from being raised by my father to cheer for Anyone But Edmonton) so I’ll be happy enough no matter who wins.

 

About braineatsbrain

Recently diagnosed with bipolar. Twice. This is where I'm going to try to make sense of that. Expect introspection, unfocused anger, and random art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. Jill says:

    You are always welcome to come over and partake in the abundance of soft tacos.
    …that sounded dirtier than intended.
    WHATEVER.
    I didn’t realize you had started posting on this blog yet, so I spent some time catching up on your entries. I really enjoy reading your posts, as they are a perspective that I feel is important for people to read about, and that you express yourself and what’s going through your head quite eloquently.

    Also, I want a Toothless plushie.

    • I will be more than happy to shove whatever juicy meat you give me into my mouth ;P

      Also, Toothless is excellent. In all ways. (As are you!)

      Also, also, I borrowed Ratatouille from my sister and will be watching it tonight! :D

  2. Glad you had a good-ish weekend (ugh, I am so sick of snow, it has been the first winter in a while in Boston we’ve had a real winter, I sympathize with your shoveling woes.) I hope your massage went well, and that you got some time to just chill.

Leave a Reply

